Day 1

Ben Cox came within seven runs of a deserved century to lead a Worcestershire recovery before Josh Tongue caused mayhem with the ball on day one of the Specsavers County Championship clash with Glamorgan at New Road.

The wicket-keeper batsman, promoted to number five for the second match running, helped Worcestershire to fightback from 14-3 to reach 267 all out in 70.4 overs.

Ed Barnard (60) and Tongue (41) also made sizeable contributions as the home side secured two batting points.

Then Tongue ripped through the Glamorgan batting line-up during a devastating spell of 6-2-16-5 – backed up by some magnificent catching.

Glamorgan, who had been 39-0 at one stage, closed on 76-6.

Worcestershire were put into bat after an uncontested toss and the in form opener Daryl Mitchell, who had scored 534 runs in the previous five innings, lost his off stump to the third ball of the innings from Lukas Carey.

Day 2

Josh Tongue registered career best figure with the ball for Worcestershire who conceded a first innings advantage of 114 in the Specsavers County Championship clash with Glamorgan at New Road.

The 19-year-old added one more wicket today to his five in four overs yesterday to finish with 6-97 from 25 overs.

It surpassed his 5-45 against Glamorgan at the SWALEC Stadium in the opening match of the season.

Skipper Joe Leach was also amongst the wickets with 4-85 from 22.5 overs – including three today – to take his tally for the campaign to 33.

But it was generally hard work for the bowlers and Glamorgan enjoyed lengthy periods of dominance with the bat as they recovered from an overnight 76-6 to 381 all out in 101.5 overs.

Jacques Rudolph’s first Championship hundred for two years laid the foundations for the visitors.

He shared with Chris Cooke in a new seventh wicket record of 168 in 50 overs for Glamorgan in matches against Worcestershire.

Then Andrew Salter and Lukas Carey featured in a 124 partnership for the ninth wicket in 27.1 overs.

Worcestershire reached 34 for the loss of Daryl Mitchell (18) – caught at first slip off Michael Hogan – before bad light halted played seven overs early.

Day 3

Worcestershire went down by nine wickets to Glamorgan on the third day of the Specsavers County Championship clash at New Road.

The County resumed on 34-1 and were bowled out for 129 to leave Glamorgan needing 16 runs for victory.

Ed Barnard bowled Nick Selman for three before the visitors claimed victory.

It completed a change around in fortunes for Worcestershire who were well on top at the end of day one with Glamorgan 76-6 after Josh Tongue’s superb burst of five wickets in four overs in reply to 267 all out.

But Glamorgan rallied to 381 and then their skipper Michael Hogan picked up five wickets today as nine wickets went down for 95.

Brett D’Oliveira and Tom Fell advanced the score to 54-1 before the former on 22 was trapped lbw by a ball cut back in from Hogan.

Joe Clarke got off the mark with a handsome cover drive off Hogan and repeated the shot against Timm van der Gugten.

But Hogan switched ends and accounted for the England Lions player on 17 when he did not follow through with his shot and fell to a fine head high catch by William Bragg at cover.

Ben Cox had made an excellent 93 in the first innings but on three he tried to cut Lukas Carey and Colin Ingram at slip held onto a juggling catch.

Fell battled away and the 100 came up in the 34th over but then the last six wickets went down for 22 runs either side of lunch.

Van der Gugten accounted for Fell who, having made 33 off 87 balls, cut at a ball of extra bounce and Ingram again pouched the chance above his head

Barnard (2) was dismissed by the same bowler shortly before the interval, edging through to keeper Chris Cooke.




Match Information

09 Jun 2017
New Road, Worcester
Start time:
Michael Burns / Michael Gough
Glamorgan elected to bowl.
267 All Out (70.4 overs)
381 All Out (101.5 overs)
129 All Out (46.3 overs)
18 / 1 (8.5 overs)
  • Worcestershire
  • Daryl Mitchell
  • Brett D'Oliveira
  • Tom Fell
  • Joe Clarke
  • Ben Cox
  • Ross Whiteley
  • Ed Barnard
  • Joe Leach
  • Jack Shantry
  • Josh Tongue
  • Nathan Lyon
  • Glamorgan
  • Nick Selman
  • Jacques Rudolph
  • Andrew Salter
  • Aneurin Donald
  • David Lloyd
  • Colin Ingram
  • Chris Cooke
  • Will Bragg
  • Michael Hogan
  • Timm van der Gugten
  • Lukas Carey